House of Mystery (Vertigo)
Publisher Vertigo
Schedule Monthly
Format Ongoing series
Genre Horror
Publication date July 2008 -
Number of issues 36 + 2 Halloween Annual (as of April 2011)
Writer(s) Matthew SturgesBill Willingham
Artist(s) Luca Rossi
Letterer(s) Todd Klein
Colorist(s) Lee Loughridge
Editor(s) Shelly BondAngela Rufino


add to related

House of Mystery (Vertigo)

Edit Block
Cover of House of Mystery #1 (July 2008). Art by Sam Weber.

House of Mystery is an occult and horror-themed comic book anthology series based on the classic House of Mystery series that ran from 1951 to 1983. The writers, Bill Willingham and Matthew Sturges, debuted the series in July 2008 under Vertigo imprint of DC Comics.


Edit Block

Cain (of Cain and Abel) attempts to return to the House of Mystery, his home in the Dreaming, and finds that it has disappeared. Meanwhile, in Texas, a former architecture student named Bethany "Fig" Keeler flees her burning house, saving only a handful of sketches she once made of a house from her dreams. Keeler is pursued by a "Pair of the Conception", agents of an entity known as the "Omneity"; they are two people, a male and a female, always holding hands. If they let go of one another, they will disappear. The pair chases her through a door and unwittingly into the House of Mystery, where she meets the inhabitants of the house bar and discovers the terms of what is apparently her imprisonment. Everyone must pay for their drinks with stories, and no one can leave without being picked up by the house's mysterious coachman. None of the house's occupants are sure why some people might get to leave and others not, so each person's stay is at least ostensibly eternal until the coachman inexplicably turns up to take them away. This doesn't stop some of the inhabitants from trying to get out, nor does it stop Cain from attempting to get back in.

Collected editions

Edit Block

The series is being collected into trade paperback:

  • Room and Boredom (collects House of Mystery #1-5, 128 pages, January 2009, ISBN13 9781401220792)

  • Love Stories for Dead People (collects House of Mystery #6-10, 128 pages, June 2009, ISBN13 9781401222765)

  • The Space Between (collects House of Mystery #11-15, 128 pages, January 2010, ISBN13 9781401225810)

  • The Beauty of Decay (collects House of Mystery #16-20 & Halloween Special 2009, 160 pages, released July 2010, ISBN13 97814012275622)

  • Under New Management (collects House of Mystery #21-25, 128 pages, released January 2011, ISBN13 9781401229818)

  • Safe As Houses (collects House of Mystery #26-30, 144 pages, released May 2011, ISBN13 9781401231545)


Edit Block

Some of the content on this page has been provided by the following page on

Up Next: X-Men: First Class (Comics)
autoplay: OFF