Alcatraz (TV series)
Format Drama Sci-Fi
Created by Steven Lilien Elizabeth Sarnoff Bryan Wynbrandt
Starring Sarah Jones Jorge Garcia Sam Neill Parminder Nagra Robert Forster Santiago Cabrera Jonny Coyne Jason Butler Harner
Country of origin United States
Language(s) English
No. of seasons 1
No. of episodes TBA
Executive producer(s) J.J. Abrams Bryan Burk Elizabeth Sarnoff
Running time 60 mins.
Original channel Fox
Original airing 2012
Status Upcoming series[1]


add to related

Alcatraz (TV series)

Edit Block
FOX promotional image

Alcatraz is an American television series starring Sarah Jones and Jorge Garcia. Bad Robot Productions produced the pilot episode, which is based on a screenplay by Elizabeth Sarnoff, Steven Lilien and Bryan Wynbrandt. The series was officially picked up by FOX on May 10, 2011, begins in 2012, mid-season on Mondays at 9pm.


Edit Block

Alcatraz follows Rebecca Madsen, a police officer (Sarah Jones), and Dr. Diego Soto (Jorge Garcia), a "hippy geek" who is the world's foremost expert on Alcatraz. Both will investigate the reappearance of 302 wardens and prisoners of Alcatraz in modern day, after their mysterious disappearance fifty years ago.

Main cast

Edit Block

  • Sarah Jones as Rebecca Madsen
  • Jorge Garcia as Dr. Diego Soto
  • Sam Neill as Emerson Hauser
  • Parminder Nagra as Lucy Banerjee
  • Jeffrey Pierce as Jack Sylvane
  • Robert Forster as Ray Archer
  • Santiago Cabrera as Jimmy Dickens
  • Jonny Coyne as Warden Edwin James
  • Jason Butler Harner as E.B. Tiller

Critical reception

Edit Block

In June 2011, Alcatraz was one of eight honorees in the Most Exciting New Series category at the Critics’ Choice Television Awards, voted by journalists who had seen the pilots.

Some of the content on this page has been provided by the following page on

Up Next: Weeds (TV series)
autoplay: OFF